The University Awards Committee welcomes applications for The University of Alabama’s six Premier Awards, the highest honors given at the Capstone.

The University of Alabama established Premier Awards to recognize UA students, faculty, and staff who exemplify the highest standards of scholarship, service, leadership and character.

Students who believe they are qualified are strongly encouraged to apply. Students are welcome to apply for the Bloom, Bonner, Mayer, Randall, Ramsey, and Sullivan awards. Faculty, staff, students and campus partners are also welcome to nominate UA faculty, staff, and departments for the Bonner, Mayer, and Sullivan awards. 

The application period opens on Nov. 1, 2018. The deadline for applications is 11:59 p.m. on Dec. 1, 2018.

Please note, all portions of the student application, including the letter of reference, are due by the deadline. Applicants should note that their reference cannot submit his/her letter of recommendation until after the application is submitted; applicants should submit their application with enough time for recommenders to submit their letter before the deadline. Students can only apply for one award. Nominations for non-student awards do not require an application. All nomination letters can be sent to

Recipients will receive a monetary award and special recognition at an awards banquet in February.

President Bell speaking at Podium

Letter from President Bell

Read the letter from President Bell about the Premier Awards.
Photo of menu from 2017 banquet

Apply for a Premier Award

Take the next step in your UA success story, and apply for a Premier Award today.
  • Apply as a student
  • Nominate a faculty/staff member
Group of Premier Award Winners

Past Recipients

See a full list of our past recipients of UA Premier Awards. Learn more about their impressive accomplishments, selfless service, and unique contributions to campus life at the Capstone.